All reviews for land rover freelander petrol

1.8 XEi Station Wagon 5dr (2004 to 2005)

09 November 2012 It's done a good enough job but the fuel consumption is shocking and it's quite heavy to drive. Much preferred my old Rav 4.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
24 November 2012 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
02 January 2013 TAKE OFF THE REAR PROP SHAFT THE CAR IS EVEN MORE RESPONSIVE AND FUEL EFFICIENT GREAT LOAD AREA.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
02 January 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
05 March 2013 The car is functional and fine for what I need it for (living in the countryside). Its a bit thirsty and the head gasket went and cost about £800 to fix - other than that, no mechanical problems at all. So for me, its fine - would I recommend it? Not particularly!
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
11 April 2013 Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
15 April 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
08 July 2013 great value for the money good visability and extremley comfortable would love the latest but alas just a poor old pensioner
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
14 May 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 XEi Station Wagon 5dr (1997 to 2000)

09 November 2012 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
27 November 2012 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
01 December 2012 OK being a petrol and a 1.8 it does guzzle the petrol. But I just love the go anywhere, in any condition over any terrain - and mine has done it all !!
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
15 December 2012 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
18 December 2012 check water reserve weekly to prevent overheating or head gasket problem.
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
29 January 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
04 February 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
16 February 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
23 February 2013 Love my freelander, great for dog, children,bikes,shopping but not too big for supermarket parking spaces or parallel parking! A great all rounder!!!
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
09 April 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
14 April 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
16 April 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
16 April 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
22 April 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
27 August 2013 Don't be put off by head gasket horror stories as most have been upgraded now, the 1.8 petrol model is more refined than its diesel counterpart ( both are good cars though ) you can expect around 26-30 mpg from the 1.8 petrol and 35-38 from the 2.0 di , look for a well maintained and cared for model with history expect some electrical failures in older freelanders but these can all be fixed for reasonably modest cost - do take it off road as well they are very capable off road and loads of fun!!
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
17 May 2014 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
21 May 2014 Great off-roader k series engines are prone to head gasket failure up gradeded my head gasket no more problems been trouble free for 3 years bit small for taller people but comfortable to drive fuel econ is slightly poor on town driving has high revving engine which burns more fuel average revs at 70 is 3500 to 4000 rpm all said and done it is a good car if looked after properly
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
24 May 2014 I loved my Freelander ! BUT, it was written off by an old man in a Corsa driving like an idiot !! GUTTED
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5

1.8 SE Station Wagon 5dr (2003 to 2005)

10 November 2012 never buy the 1.8 petrol nothing but trouble head gasket goes, overheating water pump main berings and transfer vdu box thats on the drive shaft will also go in time get rid of it dont think of bying one ive now got discovery td5 and its great proper 4x4 by far its the car i shoud have gone for befor the freelander
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
24 November 2012 Very comfortable car that never saw us stuck in very nasty weather conditions, but the K-series engine was appauling and cost a fortune to fix again and again.For the weight of the car, it felt underpowered and purely because of the engine, I would recommend the diesel engine over the 1.8 petrol.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
16 December 2012 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5

1.8 S Station Wagon 5dr (2000 to 2003)

12 November 2012 Comfy & fun but expensive at times.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
14 December 2012 poor driving position bad drive train Transfer box propshaft and rear diff
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
17 January 2013 Check the four wheel drive system - they repeatedly go wrong on the older models and cost thousands to put right!!!
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
11 February 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
11 April 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
17 April 2013 I need this type of vehicle as where I live we are prone to snow. This car is a real workhorse and quite reliable and sturdy with plenty of room for anything I need to load into it. I do love it but is not too great when it comes to mph, but at the moment would not be without it.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
12 July 2014 Freelander, are a love or hate car,great to drive plenty of comfort, you are not banging into your passenger changing gear, Exciting? I don`t buy a car for excitement I buy one because of comfort and reliability, and feeling safe in it. each to their own choice, that`s why there are so many makes & models of cars.
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5

1.8 Kalahari Station Wagon 5dr (2002 to 2003)

12 November 2012 Would stay away from 1.8 K series petrol.Head gasket problems,Clutch failure and viscouse coupling judder.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
03 December 2012 Well worth getting the head gasket mod, the car went through five head gaskets in the four years we owned it. Other than that a stunning model of a good all round 4x4. Took her off roading several times and she also kept up with much more "role specific" 4x4's. Great family car, well worth a look if your thinking of going to a 4x4. The only down side being the head gasket. Everything else was great. Loads of comfort, good range of added options and lovely to drive!
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
17 December 2012 Go for the later model or diesel
Click here for full review
1
1 out of 5
10 January 2013 best vehicle I have ever owned.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
29 January 2013 Don't buy a 1.8 petrol unless you want to fork out for a new head gasket every 3 years
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5

1.8 ES Hardback 3dr (2000 to 2003)

17 November 2012 Towing a motorcycle on the M way gives good fuel economy provided you are light with the right foot.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
29 November 2012 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
03 December 2012 Servicing and parts above average price for the Landrover, also road tax therefore not the most economic car to run.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
15 December 2012 It's the best economically and safest vehicle I have ever driven. A brilliant family car very spacious and very comfortable. Would highly and do highly recommend the land rover to all.
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
12 February 2013 Not only does it look good, it goes good and is a pleasure to drive..................wanna buy it?
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
22 February 2013 Second best car ever and second best ride.............9 out of 10
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
04 March 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
10 April 2013 I've had my freelancer for 5 years now its been great in the snow no problem it's been very reliable the kids love it when we go out any where-they want to go in the freelander and not in there moms citeron car I would buy another one when I've finished with this one need to save some money
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
19 April 2013 Great vehicle but petrol 1.8 not such a good engine, especially the head gaskit .
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
11 July 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8i Hardback 3dr (1997 to 2000)

19 November 2012 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
27 November 2012 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
07 February 2013 we have changed absolutely everything in this car, spend lots of money, worst car I HAVE EVER HAD !
Click here for full review
1
1 out of 5
14 February 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
15 April 2013 I have bought another Freelander I love them they feel safe to drive and have loads of space for both passengers and boot space is good too.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
18 April 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5

1.8 S Hardback 3dr (2000 to 2003)

23 November 2012 Warning lights come on - wet boot syndrome and it keeps loosing water/coolant despite head gasket re-skim and many other parts being replaced to solve the issue. this model / year not recommended. others may be better
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
01 December 2012 4-wheel drive, especially by Landrover, (combined with ground clearance and interior height), is/are *FAR* more beneficial in challenging conditions than I had ever realised.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
10 December 2012 Car had a multitude of problems and I spent excessive amounts to fix it before having to give up on the car. After purchase I found out from many others they had encountered similar engine failures.
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
10 January 2013 Great for carrying young grandchildren about in
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
20 January 2013 Warning lights keep coming on then off. If left for couple of days coughs and splutters for twenty mins then ok. Never have another. Do not buy one.
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
05 February 2013 I just love the way it bounces, the fact I have customized my rear tyre with an amazing picture. You can't do that on many cars.. It's roof comes off in the summer too. How cool is that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
17 April 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
13 June 2014 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5

1.8 XEi Hardback 3dr (1997 to 2000)

23 November 2012 Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
09 January 2013 Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
20 January 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
01 March 2013 Not great build quality and issues with head gasket and differential. Otherwise, very comfortable.
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
01 March 2013 Land Rover genuine parts are very expensive and the older the Freelander gets the more it needs. Check out transfer boxes, electric window lifters, head gaskets on 4cylinder petrol models, clutch slave cylinders and electrical multiplugs on all models. All the above can be problematic. However I owned my from new for 12 years and loved the drive on and off road!
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
05 March 2013 I have had my car for about 7 years, it has never let me down in any weather, I had to have a head gasket becuase the water bottle leaked so not car's fault. Paintwork still in excellent condition and no rust. Not worth a lot of money now but worth much more to me - I hope to be driving it for many more years.
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5

2.5 V6 Sport Hardback 3dr Auto (2003 to 2005)

23 November 2012 Drive was great when it wasn't in the garage being mended ! Engine was not good
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 GS Station Wagon 5dr (2000 to 2002)

25 November 2012 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
06 December 2012 cyinder head gasket went on this model
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
17 December 2012 It is a really nice drive. Fuel on the petrol 1.8 only did 27 to the gallon. The head gasket kept blowing and I spent a lot if money on it. I personally wouldn't recommend to anyone buying the 1.8 petrol but I have heard the diesels are much better. It is fun to drive and not bad in the snow though.
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
03 January 2013 very heavy on fuel , ,
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
30 January 2013 SOLD CAR AFTER FRIGHTENING EXPERIENCE WHILST MOTORWAY DRIVING AND ENGINE CUT OUT.PLENTY OF FUEL IN TANK NO OTHER FAULT DETECTED. STARTED AGAIN AFTER 2 MINUTES BUT WOULDN'T TRUST IT AGAIN SO SOLD IT.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
05 February 2013 Bought when our sons were at Edinburgh University it brought them safely and comfortably down and up to London from Scotland for seven nyears with all the lugguage and stuff that undergrads need to have with them!
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
25 February 2013 Very reliable and safe.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
04 March 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
04 March 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
14 April 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
14 April 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
14 April 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
08 July 2014 It's not a sports car but has plenty of go in it good driving position can tow caravan easily great for tip runs shopping kids part are cheap just make sure the head gasket has been Done long life antifreeze is used . I've had new fuel pump on car as failed £230 to replace and have fitted I thought that was cheap .don't run on cheap tyres go for mid range mine used daily still looks great polished up
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8i Station Wagon 5dr (1997 to 2000)

26 November 2012 Prone to head gasket problems
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
03 December 2012 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
17 December 2012 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
01 January 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
15 January 2013 Very good car, reliable, technically easy to maintain.
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
30 January 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
31 January 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
04 February 2013 Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
16 February 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
24 February 2013 i lack the car because is good to drive and confortable is my dream car if i driver the passange side is verry warm confortluck nice
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
01 March 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
11 April 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
18 April 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
08 July 2014 Amazing drive however I have had a lot of problems with 4wd, etc.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
08 July 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

2.5 V6i ES Station Wagon 5dr Auto (2000 to 2003)

27 November 2012 Very good and reliable in bad weathers.snow like
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
07 December 2012 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
23 January 2013 Nice car except big big problems with elecronics sytem. Cost over 2 thousand pounds to rectify. Would never buy another freaklander again.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
23 February 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
24 February 2013 bad gearbox
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
05 March 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

2.5 V6 HSE Station Wagon 5dr Auto (2003 to 2005)

29 November 2012 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
24 February 2013 Underpowered compared with diesel model. Engine developed a head gasket leak and recon engine was required. £4500. Expensive. Previously had disaster on Range rover. All repairs very expensive. I have a bad back and freelanders seats 'ok. Most vehicles under 1800cc useless.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5

1.8 Xi Station Wagon 5dr (1998 to 2000)

30 November 2012 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
09 January 2013 we have had 3 or 4 freelanders, be prepared for odd nigles, but are a good low cost vehicle
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
09 February 2013 Click here for full review
1
1 out of 5
16 October 2013 The petrol engine is prone to blown heads and bits are always falling off the car. The electrics in the car are also a constant source of frustration.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5

2.5 V6i GS Station Wagon 5dr Auto (2000 to 2003)

01 December 2012 engine suspect if overworked discovery better as a workhorse
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
03 March 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
05 March 2013 A fantastic land rover, overlooked By many but especially the V6 is fun and comfortable to drive. I bought it because it has good on road manners, not used off road but I think it would perform really well if it had to. Great car I intend to keep it for good.
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
14 April 2013 I love this car except for the poor lock which makes it difficult to park in a small space. Fuel economy could be better and there are a few niggling things about it e.g windows won't always close on the first attempt. Having sais all this, I would have another one as it is BRILLIANT in snow.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
14 April 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 S Station Wagon 5dr (2003 to 2004)

05 December 2012 A nice high drive and lots of stowage space. Plenty of power and perfect for wintery roads, but very poor on fuel and not too many comforts.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5

1.8i Serengeti Station Wagon 5dr (2002 to 2003)

05 December 2012 I've owned a brand new Audi Q7 and £ for £ it didn't come close tothe old Land Rover.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
16 January 2013 It was a great car for long trips. Comfortable to drive.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
01 March 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
02 March 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
14 April 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
16 April 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 XEi Hardback 3dr (2004 to 2005)

06 December 2012 good for the job it is desinged for off road and on road,good in snow
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 HSE Station Wagon 5dr (2003 to 2005)

14 December 2012 The vehicle is a great multi purpse vehicle. Comfortable and good performance. Given the unpredictable weather in the UK the Freelander is an excellent, safe all weather vehicle with great traction control
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
11 January 2013 I think the diesel would have been better to purchase.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
23 February 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
22 July 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5

1.8 Kalahari Hardback 3dr (2002 to 2003)

02 January 2013 I loved this car, it had all the extra's, small boot but with the rear seats down there was plenty of room, had to sell when we became a one car family, else I would still be driving it today.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 ES Station Wagon 5dr (2000 to 2003)

09 January 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
10 January 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
16 January 2013 Always a believer in regular dealer servicing i was very disappointed in the service from marshall land rover the sun roof seized owing to rust and yet the part on the service check was ticked as done obviously in all the servising this had been neglected i have to wonder what else may have been signed for and not been checked
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
17 January 2013 Head gaskett is a common thing to go but in 5 years have not had much else go wrong. All in all been a great truck
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
16 February 2013 I loved this car it was very comfortable GREAT to drive but it was expensive to run
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
17 February 2013 Great car good to drive and comfortable but poor economy
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
01 March 2013 ok
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
11 April 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
14 May 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 GS Hardback 3dr (2000 to 2002)

10 January 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
17 February 2013 Thoroughly disappointed with this car. Nothing actually wrong with it. But nothing really right either. And if you are lucky enough to get the soft top, you'll wonder how BMW (the parent company) make such good roofs for they're cars, and missed completely with this one.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
06 March 2013 I had so many problems, first gasket, clach, brake diske, brake pad four time over thirteen years. tracking rod, 3x bush mount, 3x set of tyer, suspensions.... Well spend for part & labor aprox £13000.00 Brought this freelander for £14000.00 very disappointed. Forget about insurance and service. I will never buy another Landrover! Thank you very much!!
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
12 April 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
30 July 2014 Terrible car never buy another. The guy who bought it said not many make 130k miles
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5

1.8 S Hardback 3dr (2003 to 2004)

11 January 2013 its a cute car!
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
08 April 2013 Used
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
08 April 2013 Well used for country pursuits, not put a foot wrong during a hard winter, both floods and snow.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5

2.5 V6i GS Hardback 3dr Auto (2000 to 2003)

11 January 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
17 April 2013 Best of all worlds car; comfortable, fun to drive, capable Land Rover. Trade-off is low mpg, which is OK for local and as a hobby vehicle.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 XEi Softback 3dr (2004 to 2005)

14 January 2013 Thhis model has a lot of problems
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
20 January 2013 Great 4x4 but not quite powerful enough to pull our caravan. Needed an oil cooler for town driving and towing.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
02 February 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
08 March 2013 I read that this car has a bad reputation but it has yet to let me down after 75k on the clock. Fuel economy is poor at 27 miles per gallon but I bought it for robustness and for getting through very wet roads and ideal for this. It does feel as though the 1.8 petrol engine is insufficient for the size of car but the most annoying thing is simple to fix - no interior handles for the 3 door and no where to hang my jacket.
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
08 July 2013 This car was by far the worst I have owned. Everything that could go wrong went wrong would not recommend to anyone. This vehicle is not good for land rover name. Stay away!!!!
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
21 September 2013 This is my third freelander. I'm not sure if it's because I had one as my first car or because I actually like them but I just keep going back ! They are a good hight easy to get in and out of and lots of room for the kids and all the junk that comes with them. I have the 3 door version so we can take the roof off in summer, when we have a summer, and enjoy the benefits of having a 4x4 that's also a convertible. It's not brilliant on fuel but I only do short journeys to work, shops and friends or family but is can literally drive anywhere and in all weather conditions. At the start of this year was really bad snow and it was invaluable and never let us down. Even though my husband thinks they are too agricultural he too enjoyed using the car, which to be honest was in its comfort zone. The interior is basic but comfortable and all the buttons and dials are in a good place for the driver. I have scored this car low due to the fact it is basic and the older shape,2005 model, but I would be interests to see if the newer shape is any different due to me having 3 and the first one was a T reg and I would of scored it the same.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5

2.5 V6i ES Hardback 3dr Auto (2000 to 2003)

05 February 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
13 February 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
13 February 2013 I love this car and would only sell it for the same car but with 5 doors as I have a grandson now and need to get in and out of the back seats now he is a bit older. It was ok when he was a baby. I love every thing about his car.
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
14 April 2013 Its a good car for the winter, but its will cost you a fortune on petrol and maintainance. Be very careful the gearbox goes on these.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5

1.8 E Station Wagon 5dr (2003 to 2005)

12 February 2013 Cylinder Head Gasket has been replaced twice @£800 !
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
02 March 2013 Would be beta if it was disel,use to much fuel.head gasket blew day after bought it.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5

2.5 V6 ES Premium Station Wagon 5dr Auto (2002 to

13 February 2013 I miss it !!!
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 E Hardback 3dr (2003 to 2005)

03 March 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5

1.8 Adventurer Hardback 3dr (2005 to 2005)

09 March 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 SE Hardback 3dr (2003 to 2005)

09 April 2013 Good looking car in three door version. Head gasket problems on the petrol engine. Hard top and tailgate water leaks spoil a good design. Hill descent system good.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
14 April 2013 Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
23 July 2013 Hardback with sunroof. Extremely comfortable.Great visibility. Great all terrain Off-roader.Paintwork excellent.No rust anywhere.Brilliant family car for children,dogs/bikesetc....Never lets you down in bad weather
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8i Serengeti Hardback 3dr (2002 to 2003)

11 April 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
03 June 2014 had quite a lot of things going wrong after i bought it in 2013
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5

1.8 ES STATION WAGON 5DR (2000 TO 2003)

09 May 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
19 October 2013 My Freelander was a great economical drive. Reliable car and needed no major repairs for 5 years running. I enjoyed it immensely and regrettably sold it in exchange for a Land Rover Range Rover, but which is also great to drive and uses LPG gas so is cheap to run.
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
19 October 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
20 October 2013 Had this vehicle for 7 years, would still buy another when I decide to change.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
22 October 2013 I have enjoyed driving a Freelander for the last 11 years and would recommend this vehicle.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
23 October 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
27 October 2013 This is the safest and luxury car I have owned. The ride is a pleasure. Shame about the head gasket problem they have.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
01 December 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
12 December 2013 I replaced the rusty sun roof as I have done most of the services including replacing window mechanisms myself and have had no problems with the Freelander.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
22 March 2014 My Freelander spent as much time in the garage as it did on the road. The most off putting aspect was that on the numerous occasions that I had to call the breakdown services out more often than not I was told by the mechanic that this car was well known for this fault and that fault. In 6 years the head gasket had to be replaced twice, the electrics in 3 of the windows packed in, the big end went, the car failed to start on half a dozen occasions due to damp effecting the starter motor and the heater seemed to work when it felt like it. In the end my Land Rover ended up in a scrap yard. Will not be buying another Land Rover thats for sure.
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
23 March 2014 Mind great car only bush and link bar need replace on regular but I can't complain,ok car cheap to run.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
25 March 2014 My freelander is fully serviced up till last week when I had my full service. Just had head gascket converstion kit fitted in no bad comments all good.
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
02 April 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
18 May 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 GS HARDBACK 3DR (2000 TO 2002)

09 May 2013 Fun on and off road
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
27 October 2013 Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
26 November 2013 10 Years after buying it and still running well (it did need a new engine a couple of years ago - and we have had a couple of problems with the "new" engine) but over all this is a good car and would buy another one (if I could afford another one) Yes it can be expensive to replace parts / tyres etc but that comes with buying a "nice" car.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
26 November 2013 Would not buy anther one
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
27 November 2013 Things kept going wrong
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
17 March 2014 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
19 March 2014 The Freelander is a great car. Nice to drive, a nice ride, handling is almost perfect. Low load noise and good fuel economy too. Its a permanent 4x4 but by simply removing the propshaft (a few bolts and thats it!) you can make it a permanent 2 wheel drive, saving even more in fuel. I thoroughly recommend the Freelander for anyone looking for a 4x4 as a daily drive.
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
24 May 2014 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5

1.8 GS STATION WAGON 5DR (2000 TO 2002)

19 October 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
20 October 2013 Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
22 October 2013 Head gasket went twice. Spent lots of money on it. Never again
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
24 October 2013 Had car from new. Head gasket blew after 21,000 miles. Very disappointing.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
24 October 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
25 October 2013 i had my landrover for 5 years no problems comfy reliable and spacious wish id never got rid
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
26 October 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
26 November 2013 Great car for winter conditions, good vision comfy vehicle, however head gasket blew at 90,000 miles
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
26 November 2013 My Freelander is an X 2000 model. I have owned it for two & a half years & am really happy with it. It had a new head with the 1st owner & another in warranty after i bought it, apart from that no real problems. Economy could be better, but I don't do excessive milege it not too much of a problem.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
28 November 2013 Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
01 December 2013 I have one I love it
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
05 April 2014 once this car had a new and improved head gasket fitted ,I found it a very good car, people who find it heavy on fuel are not driving it as it should be driven,I have had 35 mpg on long runs and up to 30 city driving, correct gear change and easy acceleration = good fuel useage.
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5

1.8I HARDBACK 3DR (1997 TO 2000)

19 October 2013 cost a fortune over the 5 years had it and good friends with all the AA men I have met
Click here for full review
1
1 out of 5
20 October 2013 Crap full stop...
Click here for full review
1
1 out of 5
23 October 2013 spent more time in the garage than being driven. gave up after 3 head gaskets and 2 engines
Click here for full review
1
1 out of 5
24 October 2013 Just a average little 4x4. Better options on the market. Does have land rover off road ability making ita good option for towing if you have a horse etc.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
26 October 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
25 November 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
25 November 2013 Click here for full review
1
1 out of 5
26 November 2013 Nice comfortable motor, very unreliable and mine was low mls and very clean but i did a full engine rebuild, had to fix ignition system and do rear diff bushes, fix window mechanism, door seals, window seals. If you get one be prepared & buy trousers with deep pockets! When its going there descent on fuel i was getting 36mpg average. There not bad off road but your constantly watching temperature gauge and hoping you make it home!
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
27 November 2013 woudnt be without one
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
07 December 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
12 December 2013 i have had every landrover made and this is without the best all round car and 4x4
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
26 March 2014 Had new gasket at 55k goes great
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
14 May 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 S STATION WAGON 5DR (2003 TO 2004)

19 October 2013 Excellent off road but heavy on fuel
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
27 October 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
24 March 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 KALAHARI STATION WAGON 5DR (2002 TO 2003)

19 October 2013 The rover engine is very poor
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
25 November 2013 Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
26 November 2013 Stay clear , better 4x4s on the market
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
28 November 2013 It was the best car I have had, only sold it because was only doing less than 1000 miles a year when I moved from a village into a town.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 XEI STATION WAGON 5DR (2004 TO 2005)

20 October 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
20 October 2013 I love my freelander ??
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
09 December 2013 Sturdy and reasonably reliable, good in the snow and poor weather conditions. However two head gaskets and a fuel pump failure has made for expensive repair bills. Poor on fuel economy and high road tax are two other negatives. I would suggest its average compared to other vehicles in a similar class.
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
18 February 2014 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
23 March 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

2.5 V6I GS STATION WAGON 5DR AUTO (2000 TO 2003)

20 October 2013 With a mighty torque BMW engine the 2.5 petrol V6 is the best work horse you can get for the money without having to lash out on Disco prices.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
24 October 2013 I have had my freelander for the past 10 years and would not change it for any other car.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
27 October 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
11 December 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5

1.8 XEI SOFTBACK 3DR (2004 TO 2005)

20 October 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
23 October 2013 Brilliant car. Never had a problem with it and great when used for intended purpose and driven off road.
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
23 October 2013 Engine too small and no height adjustment on the drivers seat.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
23 October 2013 Great baby landy for running the dogs around it and taking gear to the mountains.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
24 October 2013 engine cooked itself,with no warning !!
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
27 October 2013 Total let down. Head gasket. Running faults. Joints, all went wrong at the same time. What were landrover thinking.
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
27 October 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
26 November 2013 rubbish car -too weak by far
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
28 November 2013 I had this car for 8 years and thoroughly enjoyed driving it and was very sad to see it go. Unfortunately they were certainly designed pre recession, given their fuel efficiency, being 27.9 miles to the gallon. Car tax, tyres (lasted 7 years) and parts are also expensive. It's a small price to pay if you are a Land Rover lover, however if cars are not your hobby, then this probably isn't the car for you. The petrol engine is renowned for the head gasket going at c.60,000 miles as it has a Rover K-Series engine. This isn;t the end of the world and once corrected the car will run for another 100,000 miles. It may just cost an outlay of £500 to £1000 to put right. Overall I have no regrets, but I am glad I got rid of mine when I did.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
29 November 2013 Worst car ever
Click here for full review
1
1 out of 5
17 March 2014 Have no problem with this jeep
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
31 May 2014 Click here for full review
1
1 out of 5
31 May 2014 I think these Freelanders get poor reviews which is a shame. Mine had a new head gasket at 30,000 miles and no trouble since - parts are actually cheaper than some smaller cars. Keep it serviced and you should be fine - my only complaint is fuel economy but the driving more than makes up for this.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5

1.8I SERENGETI STATION WAGON 5DR (2002 TO 2003)

21 October 2013 Great car for holidays, taking dogs to woods, shopping and for general use. It always looks good and seems to stay clean. My Land Rover is a Serengetti petrol version and is an 03 plate but I love it. May have to sell it soon but would miss it so much if I did.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
27 October 2013 I've been driving Land Rover for the past seven years and the Freelander is excellent for comfort, reliability and is a great vehicle to drive. It's a bit juicy on the petrol but then most of my driving is stop start trips round town so it would be a little on the high side. I would without hesitation recommend this vehicle to anyone thinking of buying one. It is King of the 4x4's as far as I'm concerned.
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
27 October 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
27 November 2013 Paid £6000 for this car. Loved driving it, but within a year the head gasket went 3 times then finally needed a new engine. So went to the scrap yard!
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5

2.5 V6 SPORT HARDBACK 3DR AUTO (2003 TO 2005)

22 October 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
02 December 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5

1.8 SE STATION WAGON 5DR (2003 TO 2005)

22 October 2013 Cost me a lot of money to buy&repair,head casket,Drive shaft probs.land rover got away with it.i had a later 1.8 model aswell.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
22 October 2013 Cost me a lot of money to buy&repair,head casket,Drive shaft probs.land rover got away with it.i had a later 1.8 model aswell.
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
23 October 2013 Click here for full review
1
1 out of 5
25 October 2013 Thanks for your advice,I'm totally agree with you.i don't have the car no more and i won't buy any 1.8 petrol car in future.
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
29 November 2013 I loved my freelander but it was always sonething going wrong, really comfortable and looks great but electrics rubbish, head gasket goes, go for TD5
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
01 December 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5

1.8 S STATION WAGON 5DR (2000 TO 2003)

22 October 2013 Much better 4x4 on the market
Click here for full review
1
1 out of 5
25 November 2013 Good all round car
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
27 November 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
04 April 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 S HARDBACK 3DR (2003 TO 2004)

23 October 2013 hard work to drive uncomfortable driving position, thank god it`s my sons car and i dont drive it often! i have discovery 3 best car ever!
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
24 October 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
24 October 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8I STATION WAGON 5DR (1997 TO 2000)

23 October 2013 Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
25 October 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
27 October 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
27 November 2013 From the moment I looked and stepped inside the Land Rover Freelander, I felt in love with its Shape- room -inside sporty, visual display, the whole package, this is what I had been looking for, it was one of the happiest days in my life and still is. So pleased to participate in this review.
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5

2.5 V6I ES HARDBACK 3DR AUTO (2000 TO 2003)

23 October 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
26 November 2013 Brill car but not very good on fule
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
12 December 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5

1.8 E STATION WAGON 5DR (2003 TO 2005)

23 October 2013 You don't buy a 4 wheel drive for its economy.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
17 May 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 KALAHARI HARDBACK 3DR (2002 TO 2003)

24 October 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 XEI STATION WAGON 5DR (1997 TO 2000)

25 October 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
25 October 2013 My 1.8 did not drink fuel, was quite economical and great to drive. I was sad to get rid of it but it had to go. I will get another but with a larger engine
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
25 November 2013 its my dream car ,it has been for now eleven years, it is and it will always be.
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
26 November 2013 Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
17 March 2014 Head Gasket problem
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5

1.8 HSE STATION WAGON 5DR (2003 TO 2005)

27 October 2013 Reliable in all weather. Great in snow and the countryside
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
27 October 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
25 November 2013 Newer ones are better, but not a substantial 4x4 by any stretch of imagination, would pick Discovery over it every single time
Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5
26 November 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
19 March 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
25 March 2014 Life without a Freelander isn't worth living :( Can't wait to pick up my new one !
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5

2.5 V6I GS HARDBACK 3DR AUTO (2000 TO 2003)

26 November 2013 No longer have ours due to repair bill exceeding value, but loved being able to have the soft top down in good weather and the fact that it was an automatic made it really easy to take anywhere. It also towed well.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

1.8 XI STATION WAGON 5DR (1998 TO 2000)

26 November 2013 Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
12 December 2013 Click here for full review
3
3 out of 5

1.8 XEI HARDBACK 3DR (1997 TO 2000)

28 November 2013 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
01 December 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
02 December 2013 Worse car ever owned heavy on fuel and repairs parts expensive and hard to find.
Click here for full review
1
1 out of 5
17 May 2014 Head gasket failure not too expensive to get done. Rear differential problems again parts cheaper now. Build quality good no bits have fallen off that shouldn't.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
21 May 2014 Would never recommend anyone to buy freelander 1800 petrol. Expensive on fuel, & parts
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5

2.5 V6I ES STATION WAGON 5DR AUTO (2000 TO 2003)

28 November 2013 The v6 great car to drive proud to own bit expesive to run ie. 20mpg
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
29 November 2013 Good all rounder.. from motorway to mountain and it gets you there and back
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
01 December 2013 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
02 December 2013 Pretty much everything got replaced and then the gearbox died at 76,000 miles. Not a reliable car!
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
05 December 2013 Love my freelander
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
19 March 2014 It IS good to drive but nowhere near as economical as my previous car which was an old vauxhall frontera diesel.
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
04 April 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
05 June 2014 Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5

1.8 S HARDBACK 3DR (2000 TO 2003)

18 March 2014 Minor things keep going wrong, it is a comfortable car to drive, but all the faults keep happening we get told by mechanic that they are all known faults!!! Wish I'd never bought it now as it's costing a fortune to keep repairing don't buy one!!!
Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5
20 March 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5

2.5 V6 HSE STATION WAGON 5DR AUTO (2003 TO 2005)

22 March 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
02 April 2014 Click here for full review
2
2 out of 5

1.8 ES HARDBACK 3DR (2000 TO 2003)

19 April 2014 No problem with freelander good motor
Click here for full review
5
5 out of 5
28 May 2014 Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
29 May 2014 Great car
Click here for full review
4
4 out of 5
© 2014 These reviews are the copyright of the individual reviewers and WeLoveAnyCar has exclusive worldwide rights to their use.
By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change this and find out more by following this link.